Shetty’s wedding

I don’t even know how to begin here. Let’s take it a few months back when Shetty and I were having some drinks at the bar with some friends. A few jokes and a couple drinks in Shetty says ‘You guys should come to my wedding if you can’. My response ‘Don’t screw with me Shetty, I’ll go’.  And that’s how my trip to India began.

The day before the wedding Shetty was running all over the place…. as always (fact: Shetty’s head runs at approximately 2 light years an hour). So it’s no surprise that Shetty was still picking out a tie on the day before his wedding and as well as getting a haircut. Even though he might have seen he was doing as a chore, I asked asked to tag along to snap some photos. During the ‘chore trip’ is when he finally broke down the wedding schedule.

Shetty’s breakdown

Monday: Small reception, there will be a little drinking and dancing
Tuesday: Traditional family ceremony
Wednesday: Wedding ceremony in the morning and a reception  in the afternoon

What it really turned out to be:

‘Small reception, there will be a little drinking and dancing’
By small reception Shetty means around 200 people. By a little drinking Shetty means an open bar stocked full of Grey Goose and Black Label. Lastly by a little dancing Shetty means choreographed dances by parents, aunts, uncles, cousins, siblings and friends with the night ending by just having a huge dance party. It was nuts!

‘Traditional family ceremony’
I didn’t attend so I can’t really tell you what actually occurred but seeing how he downplayed the night before I’m assuming he was flown to a private island for a pedicure. Just sayin’.

‘Wedding ceremony’
The ceremony just left me speechless. Flowers leading up to the ballroom. Horns blaring horns announcing the brides arrival. Flowers braided in Harshita’s hair. Shetty looking like a king while playing with fire. Everything about it… Wow.

‘Reception in the afternoon’
I think the Staple’s Center was airlifted to Bangalore solely for this reception because this place was enormous. Over a 1000 people in attendance with an open bar and a buffet full of Indian food, Italian food, and desserts.

Needless to say, my mind just kept getting blown.

Shetty, muito obrigado for inviting me to your wedding and being a great host. Your 3 day wedding extravaganza has been by far one of my greatest experiences.

To anyone out there who has never been to an Indian wedding, if presented with the opportunity to attend… GO!

Parabéns Harshita and Sharath Shetty, I wish you both the best of luck!

-rh

 

After the wedding I decided to hopscotch around India for a bit before heading back to Mozambique… but that’ll be another blog.

*I was invited as a guest and not a photographer. During special unique events I try to refrain to use my camera to absorb the ‘moment’ as much as possible. As you can see though, there are just some moments that I had to permanently freeze.

 

IMG_5365

IMG_5392

IMG_5411

IMG_5415

IMG_5417

IMG_5672

IMG_5686

IMG_5711

IMG_5718

IMG_5726

IMG_5734

IMG_5740

IMG_5744

IMG_5762

IMG_5787

IMG_5793

IMG_5751

IMG_5795

IMG_5781

IMG_5782

IMG_5447

IMG_5453

IMG_5460

IMG_5483

IMG_5486

IMG_5496

IMG_5498

IMG_5517

IMG_5529

IMG_5544

IMG_5545

IMG_5550

IMG_5592

IMG_5611

IMG_5652

IMG_5619

IMG_5670

IMG_5644

IMG_5671

IMG_5538

IMG_5621

IMG_5639

IMG_5638

IMG_5776

 

 

~ by rhexperience on September 9, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
