Muito Obrigado


So I don’t really have much time to post stuff on the blog but I thought I’d give an update on how things are going here. I’ve only been here a little over a week but I feel as I have known the people I’m with for years.

My time here all started by meeting all of the volunteers in the states. There are over 60 of us so it’s a little difficult to get to know everyone on a personal level but then ones I have gotten to know are pretty amazing people.

My most favorite part of being here in Namaacha though is my host family. Anyone who knows me knows that I love hanging out with kids… especially my nephews. When I first started reading about my family I was beyond excited to see that I was going to have tons of nephews and nieces here, and the best thing is that they all live in my house! :D. Including myself there are a total of 14 people living in my house.

My household consists of Mama Asa Asusana (mom), three brothers, an older sister and 8 nephews and nieces, which I consider my little brothers and sisters. I would have never had imagined it possible to have so much hospitality for a complete stranger even more to someone who didn’t even speak your language.

I’ve taught all of my little kids and their friends how to blow it up, so now when I walk around my neighborhood tons of kids will come up me with their fist making the blowup sound (pshhhh).

Time feels slow here, I feel as if I have been in Namaacha for months now. It’s only been a little over a week. This a good thing, something I really needed. I had been caught up in randomness and kept myself busy for the past 6 years. Although I’m busy now, it’s different. I’m no longer running a million miles an hour trying to get things done trying to make deadline after deadline. I wake when the sun comes up and fall asleep a couple hours after the sun goes down.

I wake up at 5am to go for a jog with a couple colleagues, then when I get back I warm up water for my bath. Eat breakfast which usually consists of bread with peanut butter with tea. Then language class starts at 7:30. Come home for lunch at 12 then return to class at 13:30. Class ends around 16:30 then I come home do homework and hang out with the kids and or colleagues.

I’m only here ten weeks and thinking about leaving all of my kids here already sucks. One of my favorite moments so far has been when I came home for lunch and the little one year old baby Junior was crying. When I usually try and pick him up he would shy away. When he saw me he just put his arms out to pick him up. I sat outside with him and brushed his arm and face till he fell asleep. 35 Celsius sitting in the shade, Junior in my arms, looking into the mountains, only sound being leaves brushing against each other… Someone pushed the pause button on my life. Life could not be any better right now.

(wrote this post early this week and have been trying to post it since)

~ by rhexperience on October 12, 2012.

3 Responses to “Muito Obrigado”

  1. Nice!!! It’s going to be an unbelievable experience. I bet traffic noise isn’t as bad over there.

  2. I appreciate your pictures. Thanks so much for sharing Rafael. (This is Anna’s mom) Blessings to you. 🙂

  3. You are all awesome! Big hug to Yuri and all the PC group!!!

Leave a Reply

 
